Robots; An Excerpt From Free Tayco

The robots have Momma.

They’ve taken her, and there is nothing in my power that I can do. Our day together started innocent enough; we went to the store to look at toys. I remember vividly looking at a princess set; clear bejeweled heels, a tiara and wand covered in purple fur and rhinestones, topped off with a gaudy pink heart gem. It was cheap plastic, and tacky, but I wanted it, I needed it, I had to be the princess. That’s when the robots crashed through the store, and picked up my mother. She doesn’t speak as they carry her away, but looks at me tenderly. In this horrific moment I almost feel peace. I chase after them, those evil, larger than life machines (that awfully resembled Rock Em Sock Em Robots, in color and design). It’s all my little legs could do. The robots stop in the middle of a highway, turning to look at me. I’m screaming that they let her go. I’m screaming how much I love her. Tears are racing down my face, and my heart feels like it’s going to beat out of my chest. Suddenly, the world stops, and they drop her. She’s lifeless even before she hits the ground. Momma is dead, and I cry in pain, knowing I couldn’t save her.

I woke up crying, I’m sure. Momma comes racing into my room, and lifts me. She is gentle and kind. She put on a cassette tape, and held me tight. I don’t tell her about the dream; robots are scary enough to a three-year-old, the thought of being alone in the world silenced me. I was too content then; nobody could hurt me in the arms of Momma. She would protect me. I was washed with comfort and warmth. I drifted off with a smile on my face, and my fears gone.
That would be the last memory I would make with Momma.

This is a sample of the upcoming memoir Free Tayco, coming to you April 7, 2017! Head on to the Facebook page and give it a like to keep up to date with more memoir samples, release dates, and author meet and greets! 

Leave a Reply

